Saturday, February 22, 2014

Chakra Balancing

"The Chakra system is the symbolic presentation of energies which exist in the body influenced by the subconscious mind.  Yoga and meditation help you awaken those energies for the most balanced state of the body, mind and soul"
- The Drs Upadhyay, Maharshi Bhardwaj Clinic & Research Center , India
Consultants to AVEDA since 1976

At AVEDA, we draw on Ayurveda, a 5,000 year-old tradition from India, that helps us balance our chakras - 7 spinning wheels of energy that affect our heath, well-being and beauty.  The word 'chakra' is derived from the sanskrit word meaning 'wheel'.  Literally translated from the Hindi it means 'Wheel of spinning Energy'.  A chakra is like a whirling, vortex like, powerhouse of energy.  Within our bodies we have seven of these major energy centers and many more minor ones.  You can think of chakras as invisible, rechargeable batteries.
Sometimes chakras become blocked because of stress, emotional or physical problems.  If the body's 'energy system' can not flow freely it is likely that problems will occur.  The consequence of irregular energy flow may result in physical illness and discomfort or a sense of being mentally and emotionally out of balance.

Chakra #7 - Wisdom
The center of connecting to something greater than oneself, and expressing wisdom and enlightenment.  When the crown chakra is balanced, one feels strong, unclouded and joy for life.  When the crown chakra is imbalanced, one feels loss of self, spiritual abandonment and lack of connection to the universe.

Chakra #6 - Insight
The center of intuition, imagination and perception.  When the third eye chakra is balanced, one feels strong intuition, a connection to oneself and mentally fit.  When the third eye chakra is imbalanced, one has mental hocks, over-thinks things and lacks depth.

Chakra #5 - Expressive
Located in the throat and relates to creativity, self-expression and communication.  When the throat chakra is balanced, one has inner reliance, self-reliance and easily expresses ideas and thoughts.  Then the throat chakra is imbalanced, one feels selfish, has feelings of rejection and has difficulty expressing oneself.

Chakra #4 - Harmony
The center of sympathy, empathy and love.  The the heart chakra is balanced, one feels love and connection to self and others.  When the heart chakra is imbalanced, one feels derision, loss of connection and lack of caring.

Chakra #3 - Intention
The center of motivation where we set our intentions and desires.  When the solar plexus is balanced, one achieves goals, is self-confident and has strong motivation and direction.  When the solar plexus is imbalanced, one feels mental blocks, nervousness and impatience.

Chakra #2 - Nourished
The center of vitality and sensation where we move beyond our basic needs into relationships with others.  When the sacral chakra is balanced, one has stable energy, alertness, unblocked emotions and is connected to all five senses.  When the sacral chakra is imbalanced, one feels repression and feels disconnected to the senses.

Chakra #1 - Grounded
The center where we ground ourselves and take care of our basic needs.  When the root chakra is balanced, one has good energy, a feeling of security and a healthy body awareness.  When the root chakra is imbalanced, one feel lethargy, resistance to change and the need to slow down.